2024 Annual Conference Recap

Last week the 62nd Annual Conference of the Association of Free Lutheran Congregations met on the FLBCS campus. Around 500 adults met for business sessions while 200 youth enjoyed VBS and other activities. Evening worship services and meals together allowed for meaningful fellowship. Thank you to all who attended and a special thank you to all who gave their time to make this possible.

Here are a few conference highlights: 

  • Pr. Mark Olson led the opening service. The evening included the ordination of Seminary graduate Rev. Scott Olson.
  • The Bible College and Seminary shared a video report on the conference floor highlighting information from the full conference report.
  • Schools corporation members met to conduct the legal business of FLBCS including the election of new officers (see results below). Leadership also presented the latest updates to the strategic plan.
  • After the Friday evening service, many gathered for a dessert reception in Heritage Hall to celebrate 60 years of establishing students at FLBCS.   
  • The Alumni Association held their annual meeting. Attendees encouraged giving toward student scholarships.

Positions Elected at the 2024 Annual Conference 

Schools Corp Executive Committee 

  • Rev. Kirk Thorson – President 
  • Brent Peterson – Vice President 
  • Elika Korhonen – Treasurer  
  • David Fugleberg – Secretary 

FLBCS Board of Trustees 

  • Dean Nelson
  • Rev. Rodney Johnson
  • We thank outgoing trustees Don Balmer for his 5 years and Rev. Jason Gudim for his 4 years of faithful service on the Board of Trustees.  

Alumni Association Executive Committee

  • Christina Osthus – Secretary
  • Cheri Nelson – 1st Vice President

Share this Post

Read more posts from